{Books Review} The Devil Wears Prada

(reviewed in 2010 – for an updated review, contact me)
Title: The Devil Wears Prada

I actually started reading this novel, not because I read the back and felt it was interesting, but because I had had several people tell me that the movie was good and the book was even better. Hence, I purchased the book without even knowing what it was about (I wouldn’t recommend doing this in general; you should always know what a book is about before you purchase it). Anyway.

Author: Lauren Weisberger
Genre: Realistic Fiction
Number of Pages: 360

Review:

I enjoyed this novel immensely as there was constant action going on and you could really see the situation from the main character’s (Andrea) point of view.

You can tell that I liked the book from the fact that it was 360 pages long (longer than the previous two books), yet it took me less time to complete than the other two. I was extremely engaged in the book at all times and always wanted to see what happened next – there would be times when I’d say that I would only read one chapter more and I’d end up reading a couple instead of just one.

This book would most likely interest teenage girls, especially those who are interested in fashion, as the novel revolves Andrea, a young adult, hired as the assistant of Miranda Priestly, the editor of Runway, a fashion magazine. The book constantly makes references to brands such as Prada, Armani and Versace and follows Andrea as she must quickly learn to fit into the fashion world. Teenage girls who may be interested in interning at a fashion company may also find
this book information because it gives (however exaggerated) an insight into the insides of the fashion world, instead of just what is portrayed to the outside.

For everyone else, I would also recommend watching the movie (which I did). It did not follow the book exactly, but did manage to get most of the important parts. The movie did not disappoint.

Rating: 8/10

~ by Vessi on April 10, 2012.

Leave a comment